As continue my quest on my oh so Geeky hobby.  I found some information how we can protect our oh so beautiful eyes.  The UV rays can affect them by causing the development of cataracts.  The only thing I know about cataracts is that the doctors want to wait until they are “ripe”.  When I heard from family members who have had them, I laugh.  Yes, I know it is not a laughing matter and your vision can be altered.  Another effect is eye cancer which could take years to develop.  Did you know the sun can damage to those baby blues anytime throughout the year.  The sun’s rays can pass through haze and thin clouds.  If you look directly at a solar eclipse it can cause something called solar retinopathy.  Solar retinopathy can damage the retina.  Also to help maintain a normal sleep-wake cycle the eye need minimal exposure to natural light everyday.

Since I in the Northeast we get something call snow, and this pass winter we got a lot of it.  Even if it was cloudy and snowing I still needed my shades.  Did you know there is a thing called Snow-blindness?  If you did, well you are smarter than I am because I had no clue. Snow-blindness is cause from the UV rays reflecting on the snow and ice.  It can be brought on by severe cold and dryness.  Symptoms of Snow-blindness are blurry vision, swelling and watery eyes.  Snow-blindness is a type of Photokeratitis.  Photokeratitis affects thin surface layer of the cornea, which is the clear front window of the eye.  It can also affect the conjunctiva, is the cell layer covering the inside of the eyelids and whites of eyes.

Snow-blindness and Photokeratitis will usually go away by themselves.  You need to remove your contact lens right away.  Found a darken room and hang out.  Try a cold dishcloth over your eyes, artificial tears, and pain relievers.  It will go away in a day or two, and remember to wear eye protection that blocks UV Rays.

